UK Government updates RED LIST countries

The UK Government has updated the list of countries from which passengers (other than British or Irish nationals, or third country nationals with residence rights in the UK) will not be allowed to travel to the UK.

People who have been in or transited through the countries listed below in the last 10 days will not be granted access to the UK.

This does not include British and Irish Nationals, or third country nationals with residence rights in the UK, who will be able to enter the UK but are required to self-isolate for 10 days on arrival along with their household.

You cannot use the Test to Release scheme to reduce the 10-day self-isolation requirement.


  • Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores) and Mauritius removed from list Friday 19 March.
  • Ethiopia, Oman, Qatar and Somalia added to list Friday 19 March.
  • The Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh added to England’s red list Friday 9 April.
  • India added to list Friday 23 April.
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

You could be fined £500 when you arrive at the border if you cannot provide proof that you have had a negative coronavirus test.

If you arrive in England from anywhere outside the UK, Ireland, the Channel Islands or the Isle of Man you will need to self-isolate for 10 days.

Managed isolation in hotels

Managed isolation in hotels will be for those arriving from countries where the UK Government has imposed international travel bans and who cannot be refused entry – they will be required to isolate for 10 days without exception. More details will be provided by the UK Government in due course.

Any published updates to the list, or related restrictions can be found here.