New Coronavirus travel restrictions announced

The International Air Transport Association (IATA) has published updated travel restriction information for passengers travelling to a number of international destination countries.

The restrictions vary by destination country and, in some cases, by nationality. They include details of mandatory self-isolation, immediate quarantine, completion of Health Clearance Forms on-board flights, visas and e-visas being invalidated and the ending of some visa exemptions.

The countries for which travel restrictions have been updated are Antiga and Barbuda, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Belize, Chinese Tapei, Cook Islands, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, El Salvador, Fiji, Guatemala, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Macao, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmr, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Paraguay, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, USA, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

For the updated travel restriction information on each of these countries, please visit the IATA website, here

Enhanced Screening For USA Bound Flights.

Please note that from tomorrow, 19 July 2017, increased security screening will come into effect for all flights to the USA, passengers should, therefore, expect longer waiting times at the airport particularly with the peak summer season upon us. Please check with your airline for their recommended check-in times, Swiss, for example, is recommending at least three hours before departure.

The new measures have been implemented by the US Dept for Homeland Security and will affect all US bound flights from 105 countries worldwide and 280 airports. Also included in the enhanced screening will be additional checks on personal electronic devices, including mobile phones larger than 16cm in length, 9.3cm in width and 1.5cm depth, laptops, tablets and e-readers. It is also recommended that all devices have sufficient power to be turned on in case they need to be checked. However, these electronic devices can still be taken into the aircraft cabin.

Northeast USA Weather Alert.

A winter storm with heavy snow has caused disruption to the transport networks across the Northeastern Seaboard of the USA.

Thus far we have received re-booking instructions from American Airlines. These also apply to the codeshare operated services of British Airways & Iberia (where the operating carrier is American Airlines).

The airports currently affected are : Baltimore, Boston, Buffalo, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton, Harrisburg, Hartford, New York, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Rochester, Syracuse, Washington DC, Watertown & Westchester County.

Please contact us for further re-booking information if your flight is affected.